25 March 2023: PADMA AWARDS

Context: Padma awardees of 2023 include S.M. Krishna and the late Rakesh Jhunjhunwala.

  • The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day.
  • The Awards are given in three categories:
    • Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service)
    • Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) 
    • Padma Shri (distinguished service). 
  • The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
  • These Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee.
  • The Padma Awards Committee is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made.
  •  The Padma Awards Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary and includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members. The recommendations of the committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President of India for approval.
  • The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously.
  • A higher category of Padma award can be conferred on a person only where a period of at least five years has elapsed since the conferment of the earlier Padma award. However, in highly deserving cases, a relaxation can be made by the Awards Committee.
  • The awards are presented by the President of India usually in the month of March/April every year.
  • The awardees are presented a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.
Scroll to Top